Leave a comment

baby!

IMG_6491APregnancy Round 2

Oh my goodness!  I’ve been so sick!!  You may remember when I was pregnant before that I had a problem with the computer making my morning sickness worse.    Well, this time it has been so much worse!  I’m told that’s a good sign……

Phase 1:  Made the discovery at about 6 weeks.  Feeling fine, just a little bloated in the belly area.  I was pretty nervous about telling people because I was afraid of miscarrying again.  It made for some very awkward moments last time when people we don’t see often would congratulate us and we would have to explain that we had lost the baby.

Phase 2:  Nausea, dizziness, super sensitive sense of smell, super hyped up gag reflex, and no energy at all.  For about the next 4-5 weeks, I had lots and lots of nausea.  Just that feeling you get when you feel that you could throw up at any moment…. I felt like that all day.  It was almost 24-7.  In fact, it was like the opposite of morning sickness.  I usually woke up feeling fine, then after an hour or so, I would start feeling sick.  It progressed throughout the day and I usually felt pretty awful by the end of the day.  I also couldn’t stand anything touching my stomach or my neck.  I stopped wearing anything that’s not elastic waist, and even then I wore it pretty low.

I’ve never had a weak stomach in my entire life!  I used to laugh at people who got grossed out by stuff!  (the benefits of growing up with a lot of boys)  But, wow….  Many times I have run from the room gagging and choking.  The smells of certain foods (especially while they were being cooked), the thought of eating certain foods, touching raw meat, seeing something gross, the thought of something gross, emptying the trash, pieces of food floating in the dish water……….. and so many more.  Not to mention I gagged every time I brushed my teeth, and smells that I generally enjoy (like our hair gel, shampoo, soap, deodorant, etc) literally turned my stomach.

I stopped cooking meals during this phase.  I just couldn’t do it.  I was basically surviving on toast, jello, grilled cheese sandwiches, and 7-Up.  My poor husband had to fend for himself.  The things he tried to cook usually made me sick, so he ended up eating out a lot.  I stayed in bed or on the couch all day long.  I didn’t go anywhere.  Lots of watching tv and reading.  I was miserable.

Phase 3:  Indigestion, reflux, constipation, headaches, and fatigue.  The nausea has gone!  Praise God!  It wasn’t a sudden stop like last time.  It just kind of slowly dissipated.  The gag reflex is still going strong though.  Smells being highly offensive has lessened slightly.  I’m generally feeling way better, but I want to sleep all day so I’m still not getting much done around here.

Tomorrow will end my first trimester.  Right now, I am at the exact same point I was when I miscarried the first one.  Yes, I’m still nervous, but I am feeling much more confident about this pregnancy.  It’s just different.  And I had a checkup a few days ago and was able to hear the baby’s heartbeat which has given me great peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

