Leave a comment

repurpose craft

Here is my latest craft project.  There really wasn’t much to it, but I just love how it looks!IMG_6172One of the curious items my husband and I found in our attic was a Denver Mint money bag from 1978.  This bag has some significance though, a little piece of family history.

………………………………………..the story behind it………………………………………..scotty1Many years ago, my husband’s father was in the traveling carnival business.  In fact, that’s how he met my husband’s mother.  In each town, he would go into the local coffee shops to recruit girls to work in his carnival booth.  He hired her to work with him for a few days, but when it was time to move on, she decided to go with him.  They married in 1973.  They were still in the carnival business when my husband was born, but they soon settled down and built a house (the one we live in now).  IMG_6173The money bag was left over from his carnival days.  I wanted to keep the bag as a special memento for my husband, so I decided to make a pillow out of it.  Its tea-stained coloring matches perfectly with our living room decor.  I like that it’s not in perfect condition.  It even has circle shaped stains on the bottom where it sat full of coins!

The one problem was that it had been written on with blue ink.  It was just kind of unsightly.  I tried a couple of gentle stain removers, but saw only slight results.  Bleach wasn’t an option because I really did not want to alter the natural aged discoloration, and I certainly didn’t want a bleached white spot!  So I pulled out my handy-dandy nail polish remover.  (Yes, nail polish remover works pretty good on ink stains.)  I was afraid at first that it would be too harsh, but it wasn’t.  The coloring of the canvas was almost unaltered!  And believe me when I say I soaked and scrubbed at that ink.  It’s almost completely gone now and hardly noticeable.IMG_6171  Like I said, not much to it.  Besides the stain removing, it was just a matter of stuffing it and sewing the end shut.  But I’m so happy with how it turned out!  I enjoy the uniqueness of it and I like the story that goes with it.

Leave a Reply

