2 Comments

OCD?

I have OCD OIO (obsessive impulsive order).  I may be impulsive, but I’m not compulsive. impulsive – sudden, involuntary inclination prompting to action.  Yeah, I do that.  compulsive – a strong, usually irresistible impulse to perform an act, especially one that is irrational or contrary to one’s will.  No, I’m not quite that bad.

Most people use OCD to describe someone who is meticulous, perfectionistic, absorbed in the details, highly organized, excessively neat and orderly…  Wait, why do they call that a DISorder?  That implies that something’s wrong.  I think being orderly and clean should be normal!  Is that not normal?  How can being orderly be a disorder?  Can you say “oxymoron”?

Ok, so maybe the disorder part has more to do with the obsessive part. obsession – the domination of one’s thoughts or feelings by a persistent idea, image, desire, etc.; a persistent idea or impulse that continually forces its way into consciousness.

Really, it only becomes a problem (disorder) when you add in the compulsive part and it begins to interfere with logic.  There’s a sort of joke I’ve seen going around on facebook saying that OCD should be CDO so that the letters are in alphabetical order.  To me, that’s not logical.  It’s almost as bad as saying ATM machine.  It’s almost as bad as saying, “I am OCD.”  You are not a disorder!  You have a disorder!  (and you also have bad grammar!)

So do I have OCD?  You think that if it gives you comfort.  As you live in your messy disorganized little world, it probably makes you feel better about yourself to think something is mentally wrong with me.

But in reality, I actually probably have a touch of OCPD… a.k.a. perfectionism. 🙂

2 comments on “OCD?

  1. Something is mentally wrong with you… probably not OCD though. I might, however, believe that you’ve got OCPD. 😛

Leave a Reply

