Leave a comment

just give me 15 minutes

I got my new workout DVD in the mail today! 🙂

I love T-Tapp.  Let’s just start by establishing that fact.  I have scoliosis and had extensive back surgery when I was 19.  I quickly realized that I have to stay active to keep from having a lot of back pain.  Talk about incentive for staying in shape!  My surgeon told me the best therapy is walking.  I do that and I enjoy it, but it’s pretty dependent on the weather.  (I’ll walk on a treadmill only if I’m desperate.)  In the past twelve years since surgery, I’ve tried a few different workout routines and just couldn’t really get into it.  I felt like they never really did me much good other than building my stamina, and I always found myself skipping parts because I wasn’t able to do what they wanted me to.

A couple of years ago, a friend told me about T-Tapp.  A friend of hers had let her borrow a DVD to see if she liked it.  I found their website and read up on it, then bought the 15 minute basic workout DVD to give it a try.  (I got mine on ebay for less than half the price.)  I ordered another DVD that is the rehab program, that’s what I got in the mail today.  A seminar DVD came with it and I’ve been watching that.  I discovered that the woman who created these workouts has scoliosis!  She also has a back injury from falling off a balance beam in high school.  After hearing that, it makes sense why it works so well for me.  The basis of the entire program is correct body alignment.  Also, it’s all zero-impact which is huge for me.  It kills my back to jog or do jumping jacks.  I really appreciate how informative she is, explaining why things are done certain ways and such.  She also consistently reminds you throughout the workout what position you’re supposed to be in so you don’t forget and relax into the wrong position.  It has helped my back more than the exercises the physical therapist gave me after surgery!  When I do the workout, it loosens my muscles and relaxes my back.  I feel like everything is in place again.  I just really love how it makes my back feel.  I can’t stress enough how much this has helped me!  I’m looking forward to trying the new workout routines.

Leave a Reply

