Leave a comment

my dream

Sometimes I dream of one day becoming an upcycling clothing designer.  I want to make new clothes from old clothes, or from old curtains, or from an old tablecloth, or…….  I have all these ideas and inspirations running through my mind!  I see stuff on Etsy and Pinterest and I think, “I could do that!”  I’ve read in classic literature about how the women used to “make over” their dresses during hard times to hide the worn spots on the fabric.  Or they would make them over to fit the latest fashions without having to buy new clothes, or simply because they wanted a new dress.  I remember mourning over what a lost art that is!  In the back of my mind, I’ve always wanted to try this.

What’s stopping me?  Time, money, and lack of self-confidence.

The time and money thing is one of those vicious cycles.  If I didn’t have a job, I wouldn’t have much money to spend on projects.  I need money, therefore I have a job.  That job takes up about 70% of my waking hours (not counting weekends).  Consequently, that doesn’t leave me much time to accomplish my necessary tasks, much less work on projects.  The self-confidence thing is something I’ve struggled with all my life.  My logic tells me that no one will want to buy what I make and I’ll end up spending a lot of money on things I can’t sell.  It also tells me that I’m not as good at it as I imagine myself to be.  It takes a lot for me to make that first step.

As I said, for the last hundred years or so this has been a lost art.  But it has now resurfaced with force.  In the past few years, it’s become quite a fad.  There are blogs, books, youtube videos, even tv shows about it!  Probably by the time I get around to it, the fad will be over and I won’t be able to make any money on it.  That’s the way life goes.  But it’s something I would absolutely love to try my hand at.  I have stacks and stacks of vintage shirts and pants that belonged to my husband’s dad.  I have it all boxed up in the garage waiting for a yard sale in the spring.  But I can’t help wondering what all I could make out of them.  I almost don’t want to let them go.  I have some of my own clothes, old favorites that I just can’t let go of even though they’re worn out or too small.  I keep thinking surely I can come up with a way to keep wearing them.  My mind is simply exploding with ideas as I write!!

One day…………..

Leave a Reply

